2013 Tour de Langkawi route announced

Malaysia’s Le Tour de Langkawi is arguably the pinup event in the first half of the AsiaTour calendar. Though the 2.HC-ranked Tours of Qatar and Oman have superior funding, ‘LTdL’ delivers colour, passion, energized racing and professionalism in spades. The route of the 18th LTdL, from February 21 to March 2, was announced in Kuala Lumpur today.

Highlights from today’s press release:
The 2013 route will feature three hors category climbs; two at Cameron Highlands and one up Genting Highlands

22 teams, including UCI ProTeams Astana and Garmin-Sharp have confirmed participation in the tour. Andrea Guardini, winner of the points classification last year (with Farnese Vini – Selle Italia), is expected to return; but this time as part of his new team, Astana

Attendances at host venues for last year’s race increased to a total of one million spectators compared to 800,000 the year before. The LTdL programme was also broadcast in 70 countries via sports channel Eurosport and was available to millions of viewers via the Cyclo Channel, an Internet TV site

The LTdL website achieved more than 2.5 million hits and RM7.3 million (USD2.38m) in cash and kind was generated from corporate sponsors.

[For a complete overview of last year’s Le Tour de Langkawi, see the full list of Cycling iQ reports here]







Stage 1 | Thursday, 21 February 2013
Kangar – Kulim, 163.7km

Stage 2 | Friday, 22 February 2013
Serdang – Kuala Kangsar, 116.0km

Stage 3 | Saturday, 23 February 2013
Sungai Siput – Cameron Highlands, 145.5km

Stage 4 | Sunday, 24 February 2013
Tapah – Kapar, 168.0km

Stage 5 | Monday, 25 February 2013
Proton – Genting, 108.0km

Stage 6 | Tuesday, 26 February 2013
Mentakab – Kuantan, 212.8km

Stage 7  | Wednesday, 27 February 2013
Kuantan – Dungun, 149.8km

Stage 8 | Thursday, 28 February 2013
Kuala Terengganu – Tanah Merah, 164.5km

Stage 9 | Friday, 1 March 2013
Pasir Puteh – Kuala Berang, 123.6km

Stage 10 | Saturday, 2 March 2013
Tasik Kenyir – Kuala Terengganu, 114.8km